Two Donegal schools have been shortlisted in this year’s Bord Gáis Energy Student Theatre Awards

Amy Huberman – judge of Bord Gais Energy Student Theatre Awards

Two Donegal schools have caught the attention of the judging panel and will now attend an exciting Awards ceremony in the Bord Gáis Energy Theatre in May.

Fifth class student Gracie Trimble from Meenagowan National School has been shortlisted in the Best Short Scene Script category for her script titled ‘A Beautiful Couple’. The judges noted that the writer “shows wisdom beyond their years”.

Crana College in Buncrana has been shortlisted in the Best Choreography category for its production of ‘Grace O’Malley Dance Drama’ by 4th year students. Judges praised the choreography for its “innovative use of Irish and modern dance”.

On Wednesday 17 May 2017, shortlisted primary and secondary school students from across the county will gather at the Bord Gáis Energy Theatre for a special Awards ceremony where the winners will be announced. RTÉ presenter Eoghan McDermott will host the event with selected schools getting the opportunity to perform on Ireland’s largest theatre stage on the day, making it a magical experience they won’t forget!

This is the fourth year of the hugely successful Awards which were set up by Bord Gáis Energy to recognise and reward participation in the dramatic arts in schools around Ireland. Over 1,000 schools have taken part in the Awards since their launch in 2013 and last year saw over 2,000 students from counties across Ireland attend the Bord Gáis Energy Theatre for the celebratory Awards ceremony.

Open to primary school pupils from 3rd – 6th class and all secondary school students, the Awards features 12 categories ranging from performance and production categories such as Best Overall School Musical, Best Costumes, and Best Performance in a Leading Role to written categories such as Best Dramatic Review and Best Short Scene Script. A new category, Best Original Production, has also been added to the 2017 Awards in appreciation of the exceptional quality of original productions entered in 2016.

Bord Gáis Energy Student Theatre Awards judge Aoibhín Garrihy

This year’s judging panel comprised of actress Amy Huberman; Dancing with the Stars Aoibhín Garrihy; best-selling novelist Sinéad Moriarty; writer and storyteller Dave Rudden; theatre designer Monica Frawley; manager of the Bord Gáis Energy Theatre Stephen Faloon; and Bord Gáis Energy Sponsorship Programme Manager Tanya Townsend.

Commenting on the shortlist Irene Gowing from Bord Gáis Energy said: “Year on year the standard of entries blows us away, and this year has been no different! Entries across all categories have been so impressive meaning this year’s judges have had a very difficult task trying to narrow down our shortlist. On behalf of the judging panel, I would like to thank all of the Donegal schools who entered and congratulate the two schools shortlisted! We look forward to seeing them at the Awards ceremony on the 17 May 2017.”

The full 2017 shortlist is available to view at