Donegal's women in sport will be well-represented at the 2016 Donegal Sports Star Awards tonight.

The 41st staging of the annual awards bash, sponsored by Donegal County Council, is being held in the Mount Errigal Hotel, Letterkenny.

Tickets have sold out for the event since last weekend with well over 700 guests set to attend.

The guest of honour this year is Patsy McGonagle, who has led the Irish Athletics team to four Olympic Games as team manager.

Patsy McGonagle

Female sports stars feature prominently across the list of nominations in the many different categories.

Could Sinead Jennings – who reached an Olympic final in rowing at the 2016 Olympics in Rio – even win the overall Donegal Sports Star Award this time again? The Letterkenny woman has won it twice before – in 2001 and 2006.

Sinead Jennings

Six sportswomen have won the overall award: Yvonne McMonagle (2010); Sinead Jennings (2006 and 2001); Bridie Lynch (1996); Teresa McDermott (1995); Sharon Foley (1989); and Danea Heron (1985).


Chloe Magee

Six Olympians along with Patsy McGonagle, the man who managed the Irish team in Brazil, will be honoured at the event. Special presentations will be made to Chloe Magee, Sinead Jennings, Rena McCarron-Rooney, Brendan Boyce, Mark English and Tori Pena.

Here are all the high-achieving sportswomen in the running for prizes:

Kelly McGrory, Tír Chonaill A.C.

Chloe Magee, Raphoe
Rachael Darragh, Raphoe

Sophie Carr, Donegal Town Basketball Club

Chloe McDaid, Illies Golden Gloves A.B.C.
John Moran, Illies Golden Gloves A.B.C.
Labhaoise Clarke, Carndonagh A.B.C.

Eimear Toland, Na Magha, Doire
Rhianne McDermott, Burt
Sinead O’Kane, St. Eunan’s

Mandy McNulty, North West Shotokan Karate Club
Shauna Carlin, Finn Valley Athletic Club

Claire McIlwaine, Letterkenny & Phoenix C.C., Belfast
Shauna McFadden, Letterkenny

Yvonne McMonagle, Glenfin

Emily E O’Connor Letterkenny Community Gymnastics Club
Emmaléi Murphy, Letterkenny Community Gymnastics Club

Avril McNamee, Sean MacCumhaills

Denise McElhinney, Raphoe Ladies Hockey Club
Sarah Boal, Raphoe Ladies Hockey Club
Victoria Wray, Raphoe Ladies Hockey Club

Martial Arts
Natasha Doherty, Three Rivers Shotokan Karate Club (Karate)

Olympic Recognition
Chloe Magee, Raphoe
Rena McCarron-Rooney, Buncrana
Sinead Jennings, Letterkenny
Tori Pena, Finn Valley A.C.

Megan Keown, Letterkenny
Paulina Coleman, Stranorlar

Primary School Sports Girl
Caoimhe Ni Fhloinn, Scoil Náisiúnta An Choimín, An Chlochán
Hannah Murray, St. Mary’s N.S., Castlefin
Molly Nulty, Scoil Naomh Fiachra, Illistrin
Sarah Bradley, Gaelscoil Adhamhnáin, Leitir Ceanainn

Primary School Sports Teacher
Irene Mc Fadden, Scoil Mhuire gan Smál, Leitir Ceanainn
Laura Ní Ghallachóir, Scoil Náisiúnta An Choimín, An Chlochán
Orla Sullivan, Scoil Mhuire N.S., Ramelton

Sinead Jennings, Letterkenny

Katie Norris, Moville
Larissa Muldoon, Cappry, Ballybofey
Nora Stapleton, Fahan

Secondary School Sports Girl
Aisling Nee, Loreto Secondary School, Letterkenny
Amy Boyle Carr, St. Columbas Comprehensive School, Glenties
Arlene Crossan, Loreto Secondary School, Letterkenny
Catherine Grier, Mulroy College, Milford
Chloe McDaid, Crana College, Buncrana
Claire Doherty, Loreto Secondary School, Letterkenny
Claudia Cuskelly, Loreto Secondary School, Letterkenny
Daniella Jansen, St. Columba’s College, Stranorlar
Danielle McDevitt, St. Columbas Comprehensive School, Glenties
Eadaoin O’Raw, Scoil Mhuire, Buncrana
Grainne Russell, Loreto Community School, Milford
Laura Crossan, Loreto Secondary School, Letterkenny
Mia McCalmont, Abbey Vocational School, Donegal Town
Olivia Cuskelly, Loreto Secondary School, Letterkenny
Sophie Carr, Abbey Vocational School, Donegal Town
Tyler Toland, Deele College Raphoe

Secondary School Sports Teacher
Aoife De Nais, Gairmscoil Chú Uladh, Béal Átha Móir, An Chlochán
Evelyn Crampsie, Mulroy College, Milford
Mary Bourne, Loreto Secondary School, Letterkenny
Tonia Ní Chadhla, Coláiste Ailigh, Leitir Ceanainn

Amy Boyle Carr, Glenties
Roma McLaughlin, Peamount United, Dublin
Tyler Toland, Maiden City, Derry

Special Athlete
Laoise Lennox, Nemo Special Olympics Swim Club, Ballyshannon

Surf Lifesaving
Lisa Anderson, Letterkenny
Mia Monaghan, Rossnowlagh Surf Club
Triona McMenamin, Letterkenny

Cora Rooney, Ballyshannon Marlins Swim Club
Eadaoin O’Raw, City of Derry Swimming Club
Grainne Russell, Swilly Seals
Joyce Hudy, Swilly Seals

Margaret Kelly, Letterkenny 24-7 Triathlon Club

Good luck to all nominees