Three young teams from Donegal are representing the county in the Spar 5-a-Side National Schools Competition today.

The event kicks off at 11.30am in the Aviva Stadium in Dublin, where 26 schools are competing in six sections.

Woodland NS, hailed as the ‘Woodlands Wonder Women’ by their coach Michael O’ Malley, are representing Ulster in the final select for the girls large schools division, SPAR ‘C’ Girls Cup.

Woodland NS

Woodland graced the Aviva back in 2014 with Evelyn Roche actively involved. Her side were placed fourth in the SPAR ‘B’ Girls Cup for medium schools that afternoon but this year they will line out in the SPAR ‘C’ Girls Cup for large schools with Michael O’Malley leading the way. Prior to that, the Donegal outfit picked up bronze in 2010 when the boys came third in the SPAR ‘C’ Cup.

Meanwhile, the SPAR ‘B’ Cup will see boys from Dooish NS, Ballybofey, Donegal (Ulster) tyring to make a top of the table finish.

Elsewhere, Seán Carr, Chairman of FAI Schools will have a keen interest in the SPAR ‘A’ Girls Cup as his former primary school, Scoil Mhuire, Caiseal, Fánaid will be in action for the Ulster kingpins.

Scoil Mhuire, Caiseal, Fánaid are debutants in the small girls schools section today.

Scoil Mhuire, Caiseal, Fánaid

The day promises to be fun filled and action packed as the future starlets entertain the crowds in the Aviva as the final curtain comes down on the SPAR FAI Primary School 5s programme for 2017.

The event will be a family fun day focusing on providing participants and spectators alike with huge excitement and entertainment, making it a day to remember for all involved.

All 192 players will receive a medal, the six winning teams will be crowned SPAR Champions for 2017 as well as a SPAR Player of the Tournament accolade in each division to be awarded.

Donegal Squads:

Scoil Mhuire, Caiseal, Fánaid, Donegal | Méabh Ní Dhubhthaigh, Olivia Ní Fhríl, Rachael Ní Fhríl, Clodagh Ní Thiaróin, Aoife Ní Shiail, Isult Ní Mhathúna, Alannah Ní Fhríl, Aoife Nic Suibhne

Teachers | Una Sweeney, Gráinne Uí Dhubhthaigh

Dooish NS, Ballybofey, Donegal | Darragh Boyle, Jack Long, Kevin McCormack, Conor McGinty, Patrick Long, Mark Mbuli, Eoin McGonagle, Andrew Murray

Teachers | Ciarán McDevitt, Jason Ewing


Woodland NS, Letterkenny, Donegal | Aoife Sweeney, Gliodhna Patton, Niamh Sweeney, Amy Hegarty, Laura Doherty, Sinéad Otoo, Aoibhinn Franklin, Maria Kelly

Teachers | Michael O’Malley, Evelyn Roche